Christmas truly is the most wonderful time of the year!  I am not only encouraged to shop, but I also get to come home and wrap it all up – and I mean everything.  I have been known to individually wrap every single stocking stuffer including the most miniscule of items such as chapstick and candy bars.  I adore wrapping gifts.  Luckily this time of year presents me with the opportunity to wrap to my heart’s content, and as part of my annual Christmas ritual, I make my own coordinating gift tags.

I purchased sheets of red, green and white cardstock to cut into squares and rectangles to accommodate gifts of all shapes and sizes.  I stamped some of the cardstock tags with stars, snowflakes, trees, and ornaments using both silver and gold ink.  This year I also incorporated a stolen idea from the December 2009 issue of Martha Stewart Living and embellished some of the tags with tiny pine cones.  Prior to attaching the pine cones, I spray painted some of them gold or silver and left a few natural.  In order to save a little cash, I attached my tags using left over yarn or twine in place of store bought ribbon and bows.  Finally, I added a jingle bell because it is Christmas and it is time to be corny and festive.

