I am not the only one who enjoys an auction. My mother-in-law, Lynn, loves them too.  In fact, I attended my first auction with her shortly after my husband and I were married, and I have been hooked ever since.

This past fall, Lynn and my sister-in-law, Erin, attended a country auction in Blackstone, Virginia.  They had previewed the sale brochure and set their sights on the perfect Christmas gift for our growing family.   Lucky for us, they won and we received a wonderful surprise under the tree this year.  This circa late 1800’s pram (baby carriage) is in pristine condition.   It has an iron frame and is made of whicker.  The wooden handle even has a spot to hang a parasol.

Young Burtie can use the carriage as a bassinet in her early months of life, and then I plan to fill it with toys and blankets and use it to decorate her room.  In a few years, I have visions of her placing her baby dolls inside and pushing it around the house.

In the meantime, I decided to make a small cushion for the inside of the pram.   I used a piece of two inch foam leftover from a previous project and a fabric remnant that I purchased for a $1 at a yard sale a few months ago.  The resulting cushion coordinates well with the nursery and will provide a soft place for Burtie.

