It is time for annual bulky item pick up!  This is the time of year that the City of Winston-Salem actually encourages you to leave out all of your large unwanted junk to be magically whisked away.  For me, it is an opportunity to participate in what I like to call “curb rescue.”  Amongst the tattered wicker chairs, three-legged tables, and broken TVs, I am always sure to find a few diamonds in the rough.

Last Saturday, I used my early morning run around our neighborhood as a scouting expedition.  Once I returned home, I hopped in my car to do my own curb collection.  This year I managed to find a blue and white ceramic flower pot as well as a small white side table to put out on our sleeping porch.  Later in the afternoon, Jed and I spotted my favorite treasure of the day, a rustic-looking child’s chair that is remarkably sturdy.  Obviously, it has already been to good use.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

