This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As much as I adore our new home, it is a bit of a crayola box.  Let me run down a list of the paint colors on our walls: Williamsburg Blue, Grass Green, Burnt Sienna (with sparkles!), Olive Green, Fire Engine Red, Off White, Chartreuse, and my personal favorite, Grape Kool Aid.  Being that this is the fourth place that Mattie Windsor has lived during her first sixteen months on this planet, Jed and I felt obligated to make sure that her purple bedroom received immediate attention.

After a few days of scrutinizing paint swatches, Jed and I decided on “Simply Aqua” by Valspar for three of her walls and black chalkboard paint for her fourth wall and the top of her table.  We also selected “Awakening” by Valspar for her cubbies and a standard white from Benjamin Moore for her shelf, chairs and table legs.  Please note that my father originally made the table and chairs for my oldest sister, Kathleen, and recently reinforced them for Mattie Windsor.

With the addition of an inexpensive black and white rug from Ikea, some new pillows, and all of her toys, Mattie Windsor’s room has become the ultimate kid paradise.

