This slideshow requires JavaScript.

As I have previously mentioned, our home has no shortage of colorful walls.  In an attempt to tame the rainbow, we selected  “silver satin” by Benjamin Moore to paint the majority of our common spaces.  This massive painting project included covering the green monster (a.k.a. our living room).

Please note that I love color.  In fact, I am especially fond of kelly green – just not in my living room.  All I could see was green.  Our tiger maple fireplace, our artwork, and even Mattie Windsor seemed to get lost in the our mini emerald city.  I had to do something about the green monster.

It took a coat of primer to hide the green before applying a coat of the soft gray that we selected.  Once the painting was done, it was time to reintroduce green into the room but on my terms.  I made simple curtain panels to dress up the windows and added a few other accents to bring it all together.  Not only have our paintings and fireplace magically emerged from the freshly painted walls, but Mattie Windsor appears to be right at home.

