This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Occasionally a girl needs a break from her paintbrush and roller. I find that pillows are an instant gratification project that is both affordable and easy.  I also recently retired my vintage Singer sewing machine and traded it in for a fancy new model.  Consequently, I am pretty much looking for any excuse to sew.

Over the last  month, I have made several pillows.  Four of the pillows are for the beds in our guest room and are made out of a various floral fabric pieces that I picked up at yard sales.  The pillows are inspired by the new floral bed skirts that I also purchased at a yard sale and custom hemmed for our beds.

In order to unite a couple of our common spaces, I made a pillow for the foyer to compliment the cowhide rug in the living room.  This cow print fabric was a $1 remnant from 1502 Fabrics and could not have been more perfect.

My most recent pillow was also made from a remnant from 1502 Fabrics and provides the perfect splash of color to our upstairs hallway.

