This slideshow requires JavaScript.

After a slight struggle to put our nine-foot Christmas tree in the stand, not only did Jed and I manage to keep the colossal tree stable (and not topple over), but we also managed to get it reasonably straight.  I then proceeded to string on the lights.  I have learned my lesson from Christmases past and only used nine strands of lights instead of the twenty plus stands I used the year that I nearly cooked the tree.  Finally, it was time for the best part – hanging the ornaments.

Mattie Windsor loved digging through our boxes of ornaments, choosing her favorites, and selecting just the right spots to place them on the tree.  We sang and danced to Christmas carols while we admired our work.

We look forward to the next couple of weeks and enjoying many more evenings (and mornings!) by our Christmas tree.

