I, Project Hurt, reserve the right to change my mind.

I have to admit that there have been a few instances when I have  completed a project and somehow it does not live up to my expectations or turn out exactly how I had envisioned.   Such was the case with our living room curtains (The Green Monster).  I adored the green whimsical fabric with its bird and floral motif, but  I just was not fond of how it looked on our windows.  Rather than make a rash decision, I chose to live with it for a few months until I had a new plan in place.

And then one morning it came to me,  I could take down the drapes and recycle the fabric into a tepee.  This would be the perfect birthday gift for the toddler who has everything.  The minute I took the drapes down, relief washed over me as light flooded into the room.  Our living room looks worlds better sans curtains and the tepee was an immediate hit at Mattie Windsor’s second birthday party.

Not only does the tepee complement our living room decor, it is also suitable for outdoor use  and is durable enough for Mattie Windsor to set up on our lawn.  Because when it comes down to it, what kid doesn’t prefer a fort over drapes?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

