When it comes to decorating, I love anything and everything that is either natural or rustic. You will find no shortage of coral, driftwood, and other weathered objects scattered about our home. I am particularly fond of deer antlers and thanks to my parents (and their friends and co-workers), I have amassed quite a collection.

(Hmmm…perhaps there will be an antler wreath or chandelier is in our future?…)

During my most recent visit to my hometown, my parents bestowed upon me this magnificent specimen.

20130128-161525.jpg

Needless to say, I could not wait to get my new set of antlers home to hang on our wall. Rather than mount them to create a trophy,(because I am more of a gatherer than a hunter), I chose to give the antlers the royal treatment they deserve.

First I hung a vintage painted frame that I practically stole for $1 from an antique shop several months ago.

20130128-185630.jpg

Next I centered the antlers within the frame.

20130128-185620.jpg

The result is an unexpected compliment to our dining room mantel.

P.S. Happy 46th Anniversary Mom & Dad!!

