Who does not love finding new uses for old things?

During a recent Saturday morning escapade with Mattie Windsor and my mother-in-law, Lynn, I discovered a charming old wooden spice rack at Goatfeathers. I especially loved that the previous owner had made her handwritten labels to replace the original labels that were lost throughout the years.

20130827-194025.jpg

20130827-194019.jpg

I was quickly inspired to turn it into a series of small vases.  Lynn found a pair of shot glasses  in Goatfeathers that were the perfect fit for the wooden holes and I suddenly found myself on a mission to find ten more glasses to complete the set.  I found three additional glasses at Goodwill, a set of six at Tuesday Morning, and finished the look using a shot glass from our bar.

With the addition of a few flowers from our yard, we have instant decor for our mantle.

20130827-194014.jpg