It has been awhile since I have taken on an upholstery project and I have been on the lookout for a new piece to inspire me. I found this chair at Goatfeathers.

IMG_1726

 The price tag was marked $30 but it was quickly brought to my attention that everything in the booth was 50% off. Needless to say, I could not pass up this sweet little chair for $15.

 IMG_1732

After purchasing the chair, Mattie Windsor and I made  a beeline to 1502 Fabrics. I bought several remnants** including two that would be perfect for the chair. I chose a white/lime green/blue chevron to pair with a complimentary cobalt blue velvet. Both of the remnants were only about a yard and a half each, so I had to be very methodical in my approach to measuring and cutting the fabric to ensure that I had enough to cover the chair. (I was even able to save just enough of the chevron fabric to make a pillow.)

IMG_1745

Luckily, the existing fabric on the chair was a cinch to remove.

IMG_1746

And the new fabric went on without a hitch.  (I even got serenaded by Mattie Windsor each time I turned on the air compressor.)

IMG_1751

I am very pleased with the final result.

IMG_1760

 The chair looks fabulous in our bedroom.

IMG_1759

And I even had an excuse to make a few new toss pillows for our bed.

 IMG_1797

**As a side note, I also purchased  a yard of a luxurious charcoal mohair velvet.  Usually priced over a $100 per yard, it was a steal for $5.  I will patiently save it for a future project.

