After a two year break, the Hurts got the esteemed privilege of hosting Thanksgiving dinner once again.  We entertained family members from all corners of Virginia as well as some local friends.

IMG_2662

This year Jed got adventurous and prepared the turkey using a dry brine and the “spatchcock” method.

IMG_2677

Mattie Windsor and I made a centerpiece using found items from a recent nature walk.

IMG_2678

While I busied myself setting out the finery on the adult table,

IMG_2676

Mattie Windsor created her own tablescape

IMG_2691

complete with customized place settings for her and her friends.

IMG_2692

I was immediately advised not to mess it up.

IMG_2658

In honor of my Mam-ma, I ensured that there were crafts for our younger guests.

IMG_2695

It was a huge hit…

IMG_2699

(and a huge happy mess!)

IMG_2711

My Dad was given the important duty of blow torching the marshmallows on top of Lynn’s sweet potatoes

IMG_2702

and then it was finally time to present the turkey in all of its glory!

IMG_2721

There was no shortage of culinary delights

IMG_2722

and fantastic conversation at our table.

IMG_2719

The girls seemed to enjoy themselves too!

IMG_2671

In the spirit of the upcoming Christmas season, I sent all of our guests home with homemade paper ornaments.

I am so thankful to have shared another Thanksgiving with my family and friends (and to Jed for not only cooking the best turkey I have ever tasted but also volunteering to do all of the dishes!)

